Google Data Inactive Account Manager Tool

Get Thrive Leads for WordPress

What should happen to your photos, emails and documents when you stop using your account? Google puts you in control.

after death tool in google

Google Inactive Manager

Google’s After Death Tool

Google will allow users to make a decision what happens to their data after they die or be converted into inactive online, the first major company to deal with the sensitive issue.

The feature applies to social network Google Plus, email  and other accounts.

Users can choose to delete data after a set period of time, or pass it on to specific people.

Internet users around the world have spoken concern about what happens to their data after their end.

“We hope that this new feature will enable you to plan your digital life after death – in a way that protects your privacy and security – and make life easier for your loved ones after you’re gone,” Google said in a blogpost.

California-based Google also owns YouTube, Blogger and photo-sharing service Picasa.

Google said users have option to have their data deleted after three, six, nine or 12 months of inactivity. Alternatively, confident contacts can be sent data from some or all of their services.

However, the company said it would text a provided number or email a secondary email address to inform users before any action is taken.

People are increasingly placing content on social networks and data storage services hosted in cyberspace, or the “cloud”.

Other companies have also attempted to tackle the question that rises after a person’s death. Facebook, as an example, allows users to “memorialize” an account.

Using Inactive Account Manager, you can decide if and when your account is treated as inactive, what happens with your data and who is notified.

 Four Main Option Google Provides with This New Feature

(1) Timeout period:
You set a timeout period, after which your account can be treated as inactive. The timeout period starts with your last sign-in to your Google account.

(2) Alert me:
Inactive Account Manager will alert you via text message and optionally email before the timeout period ends.

(3) Notify contacts and share data:
Add trusted contacts who should be made aware that you are no longer using your account. You can also share data with them if you like.

(4) Optionally delete account:
If you wish, instruct Google to delete your account on your behalf.


Source
: BBC and Google.com

Sharing is Caring!
aarif habeeb
 

Aarif Habeeb has over 2 years of Digital Marketing experience & is a Digital Marketing Strategist and Technical Content writer .

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments
error: Content is protected !!